Retentions in the construction industry

24th January 2019

A number of the most senior MPs in Parliament are now backing reform of retentions, according to leading engineering services bodies ECA and the BESA.

Newly announced supporters of the Aldous Bill include 15 select committee chairs from the four largest political parties, namely:

  • Rt Hon Nicky Morgan - Chair, Treasury Committee
  • Rachel Reeves – Chair, BEIS Committee
  • Clive Betts - Chair, HCLG committee
  • Rt Hon Robert Halfon – Chair, Education Committee
  • Rt Hon Frank Field – Chair, Work and Pensions Committee
  • Rt Hon Yvette Cooper – Chair, Home Affairs Committee
  • Meg Hillier – Chair, Public Accounts Committee
  • Angus MacNeil - Chair, International Trade Committee
  • Rt Hon Norman Lamb - Chair, Science and Technology Committee
  • Stephen Twigg – Chair, International Development Committee
  • David T.C. Davies – Chair, Welsh Affairs Committee
  • Pete Wishart – Chair, Scottish Affairs Committee
  • Kate Green OBE – Chair, Standards Committee
  • Rt Hon Harriet Harman – Chair, Human Rights Committee
  • Rt Hon Sir Patrick McLoughlin – Chair, European Statutory Instruments Committee

Further information is available via the following link:


Alternatively please email


Contact Peter Aldous MP

UK/Italy bid to host the global climate change summit in 2020

Lowestoft and Waveney Business Awards

The Renaissance of East Anglian Fisheries

Construction (Retention Deposit Schemes) Bill

Construction (Retention Deposit Schemes) Bill


Peter holds regular surgeries at various locations in the constituency. Please call 01502 586568 to make an appointment.

Next Surgery: 

Lowestoft, Friday 19th July


A47 Alliance

Suppor the A47 Alliance

Download the report...

A47 Gateway to Growth


Search form

Your Local Councillors

Enter your Postcode below for details of all your elected representatives:


Constituency Map

View Waveney in a larger map